A Message from the Chair of the 20th Canadian Arts Summit
Message de la président du 20éme Sommet canadien des arts

Dear fellow Canadian Arts Summiteer,

The 2017 Canadian Arts Summit will take place from May 12-14, 2017, on the occasion of Canada’s 150th anniversary and the 20th anniversary of the Canadian Arts Summit, CultureNEXT will bring together 150 extraordinary arts leaders from across the country to imagine the future of Canada’s creative life.

As Canada looks forward to the next 50 years, issues around cultural diversity and inclusion, evolving digital technologies, cross-cultural and cross-disciplinary intersections, and reconciliation with our Indigenous people are emerging as major drivers of cultural transformation.

Please mark your calendars now! Your Steering Committee is hard at work designing an extraordinary program for our 20th anniversary year.

If you’re inspired to contribute ideas or feedback, or wish to showcase an innovative project or initiative your organization is working on at the Summit, please feel free to contact any member of the Steering Committee.

This year’s Committee includes returning members:

Jim Fleck, C.C., Chair, Business for the Arts
jimfleck@me.com

Jessie Inman, CEO, Confederation Centre
jinman@confederationcentre.com

Barry Hughson, Executive Director, National Ballet of Canada
bhughson@national.ballet.ca

Gideon Arthurs, CEO, National Theatre School
garthurs@ent-nts.ca

Camilla Holland, General Manager, Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre
cholland@royalmtc.ca

Leslie Lester, Executive Director, Soulpepper Theatre
leslie@soulpepper.ca

Ross Paul, Past Chair, Arts Club Theatre (Past Chair)
rpaul@uwindsor.ca

Nichole Anderson, President & CEO, Business for the Arts (ex officio)
n_anderson@businessforthearts.org

Carolyn Warren, Vice President, Arts, Banff Centre (ex officio)
Carolyn_Warren@banffcentre.ca

Shannon Litzenberger, Program Director, Canadian Arts Summit (staff)
shannonlitz@me.com
And new members:

Amirali Alibhai, Head of Performing Arts, Aga Khan Museum
amirali.alibhai@akdn.org

Lisa Rubin, Artistic and Executive Director, Segal Centre
lrubin@segalcentre.org

Anthony Sargent, CEO, Luminato
ASargent@Luminato.com

The program will be announced in early 2017. Registration will be available shortly following this announcement.

If you missed the 2016 Summit, you’ll find two reports here that capture key themes and discussions, prepared by Summit partner, the Banff Centre.

CAS 19: Diversity and Inclusion Report

CAS 19: Full Report

Best wishes for a successful 2016-17 season. I look forward to seeing you in Charlottetown next spring.

Sincerely,

robert-foster-sig

 

 

 

 

Robert Foster
Chair, 20th Canadian Arts Summit
Chair, Civic Theatres Toronto
foster@capitalcanada.com